Archive for the ‘Review’ Category

Memorable Novel of Exceptional Merit

Wednesday, July 15th, 2009

This thoughtful and in-depth review from Mysterious Reviews was just published, describing Haunting Bombay as ”a beautifully crafted mystery of amazing depth, sensitivity, and complexity… as haunting in its style as in its substance.” Reviewer Wayne Cunningham also writes, “Besides developing an outstanding story filled with family tensions and dark drama, Agarwal holds her reader’s interest with passages of history and biting social commentary and references to Indian mythology, deities, and regional superstitions. She can evoke laughter as well as tears, fear as well as serenity, and she is masterful at springing surprises at just the right moment.” Click here for the full review.

Giving Voice to the Dispossessed Through the Supernatural

Tuesday, April 28th, 2009

USA Today Books Roundup featured HAUNTING BOMBAY, describing itas an “intriguing debut novel” that “draws on the broader mystical culture that envelops India, where there is always a supernatural explanation for everything that happens, especially the horrific. Often, fingers point to the weakest members of the community; Agarwal seeks to give voice to the dispossessed through the supernatural.” Read the review.

A Good Ghost Story, Compelling Snapshot of 1960s Bombay

Saturday, March 21st, 2009

Library Journal gave HAUNTING BOMBAY a starred review, saying, “Love is stronger than death, and secrets will always come out, as this carefully crafted debut novel reveals… Readers who enjoy a good ghost story will appreciate the tense interplay between the living and the dead as the former seek to deny, then ignore, then banish the latter. Those who prefer realism will find Agarwal’s snapshot of 1960s Bombay compelling and savor her attention to both historic and domestic details-the descriptions of food, jewelry, furniture, and religious ritual are particularly vivid. Agarwal’s work will definitely appeal to fans of Monica Ali and Jhumpa Lahiri by virtue of its characters and setting, but it retains a fresh, original feel that will draw in new readers with its own literary merit.

A book of wide sweeping imagery and unforgettable characters

Saturday, February 14th, 2009

Kingdom Books, a specialty mystery bookshop in Vermont, run by Beth Kanell and her husband Dave, a member of the National Book Critics Circle, had this to say about Haunting Bombay. “Soho Press brings out a thick and satisfying first novel by Shilpa Agarwal…a book of wide sweeping imagery and unforgettable characters… a literary novel, not a conventional mystery — but in its parallels to the hauntings of Poe’s stories and to the hot pulse of today’s vampire narratives, HAUNTING BOMBAY earns a place within the genre.”  Click here for the full review.